Current Indulgence: The Hunger Games

It is safe to say that I am officially obsessed with the Hunger Games trilogy. I thought nothing of it when I first heard of the book series or movie. Then I kept hearing rave reviews about how great this trilogy was, and how different it was to the au contrare popular Harry Potter or Twilight series.

I was browsing around in Target, parusing through the different aisles getting distracted from what I initially went in there for, and stopped by the aisle with the various book selection. I was intrigued by the rave reviews I’ve been hearing and the film release about to come up next month, so I picked up the paperback copy of Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Once I picked it up, I never put it down. In total time, I finished the book in two days in between doing homework and actual work work. I disappeared into this world of Panem and I was indulging in this crazy story. Definitely a page turner for me.

I just recently picked up the second book, Catching Fire, which I can’t quite grasp the excitement I have for it. It’s been a while since I’ve found myself reaching for a good book. I’m definitely looking forward to the film releasing within the next month, and how much craze is going along with it. I was never a “Twi-hard” or a huge fan of a book series, so I’m not really sure how you would compare my excitement for everything Hunger Games related.

With the new movie about to release and the ever-so-popular China Glaze releasing a “Capitol Colours” collection, I couldn’t be more ecstatic! For one, I’m a big movie goer, and secondly, I love nail polish! So the “hype” around this movie is right up my alley being I’m definitely a contributor to it.

Have you guys read the book series? Picked up any colors from the CG collection? Took a peak at the movie trailer? What are your thoughts? I’d definitely love to hear!

“What will you be wearing to the opening ceremonies?” — China Glaze Tagline for Capitol Colours

XO Alyssa

One thought on “Current Indulgence: The Hunger Games

  1. I loved the book too- could not put it down! Like you, I never liked Twilight or any of that kind of stuff, so my obsession kind of surprised me!
    Love the trailer too- it looks amazing! I can’t wait for March 23!

Leave a Reply

