Sweet Indulgence: Extraordinary Dulce De Leche

Nothing pulls at my heart strings more than desserts, and as an avid fiend for anything sweet, I chose to indulge in something naughty today. Not quite what you may think, but just imagine the perfect slice of layered chocolate cake, with a hidden crunch and creamy delicacies. This isn’t your average chocolate cake, let me tell you that. Oh no, this is extraordinary!

Image

Now, I do apologize for the poor camera quality as I did use my iPhone for this, but nonetheless I feel like I captured most of what I could of this impeccable dessert.

Long story short: I decided to give sweets, including ice cream, candies, and desserts of all sorts “up” for lent. And as gimicky as it may sound, it’s a big challenge for me because I suffer from a huge sweet tooth! So as a last “hurrah” I decided this would be the way to start my fast–a dessert I will never forget, and it is/was “Fat Tuesday” after all.

If any of you are from or near the San Diego (CA) area, you must have at least heard of this place called Extraordinary Desserts. There are two locations, both of which serve the same desserts, coffees, teas, chocolates, etc. They offer the most delectable indulgences you could feast your eyes on!

I’ve been here numerous times and I’ve never been dissapointed in the selection they offer. This is one of my all-time favorite desserts, the Dulce De Leche cake. Extraordinary describes this as “A crunchy milk chocolate confection is hidden between layers of chocolate cake and creamy chocolate mousse. Homemade dulce de leche finishes this over the top chocolate torte.”

Image

This is the most “raved” about dessert, this baby even made it’s debut on TV! I believe on the food network, that’s how great this is. I honestly cannot put it into words how amazing this dessert is. It definitely is an indulgence–it’s perfect. Not too sweet, not too chocolately, and it goes great paired with one of their signature coffees or teas!

Also, there is a great “happy hour” deal for those going to the Balboa area location:
From 3-7PM, you can get a slice of cake and a coffee or tea for $10. And for $2 more you can get one of their specialty coffee drinks instead. This is a great deal! Luckily, we were 5 minutes away from when happy hour ended, so it’s like getting the tea for free (the slice of cake was $9.95).

This place isn’t cheap, but it isn’t too expensive either. It really is a place to indulge in, and I’m glad that I did because this will satisfy my sweet tooth for the next 40 days (at the very least)! I’m already looking forward to Easter time when I can go back for more.

If you guys have heard of this place, tried it out, or are planning a visit, please let me know–I’d love to hear your feedback and experience!

XO Alyssa

2 thoughts on “Sweet Indulgence: Extraordinary Dulce De Leche

    • There’s no wrong time to crave chocolate cake 😉 This cake has literally been appearing in my dreams, and I’ve craved it for a couple weeks now, I’m so glad I had a chance to have it earlier today–it’s just as amazing as it sounds!

Leave a Reply

