Drugstore Discovery: New Wet N Wild Megalast Nailpolishes

While browsing around the web, I noticed a lot of blogs posted about the new Wet N Wild products that have released within the past couple weeks. From new polishes, eyeshadows and lipsticks, they have expanded their range of color and product. I’ve always been a fan of Wet N Wild because of the affordable price tag plus the quality of their products. I haven’t been let down from the products I currently have, which I do happen to use on a day to day basis.

I headed to my nearest Walgreens (mostly because they have a bigger selection of Wet N Wild than the other drugstores around me), and went wild! I saw that not only was their nail polishes only $1.99, but it was buy 2 get 1 free! You can see why I was so ecstatic. I haven’t tried out any of the Wet N Wild nail polishes before, but from what I know they have reformulated the “megalast” line and have revamped the brush and packaging as well.

Image

(From L to R: Wet Cement, Undercover, On a Trip, Through the Grapevine, Heatwave, I Need a Refresh-Mint)

The packaging is adorable, I love the way the bottle is shaped–it’s sleek, and different from the typical round bottle of nail polishes we often see. Since this line of WNW polishes are revamped, only a select are actual new shades. I honestly do not know for a fact which colors are “new” to the line being that they all have the “new” sticker on them–but they are new to me, so that’s all that matters! I picked out the colors I knew I did not have any similar in my collection. But like any nail polish fanatic, I did have to get the greige and mint color because those are my faves.

Image

Wet Cement is a gorgeous grey/taupe color. It shines different in different lighting–it was very opaque in coverage and is definitely one of my favorites out of the bunch.

Image

Undercover is a mauve color I find very unique, it’s like a dusty pink and mauve berry color which was one of the first colors that attracted me to the bunch. I really like this color, it screams “fall” to me, but nonetheless it’s perfect for anytime. I enjoy it’s not loud, especially because it would be appropriate for the office space as a neutral shade.

Image

On a Trip is a loud blue-based purple with a lot of cool tones. It looks more blue in pictures, but in reality it’s more purple than anything. It’s gorgeous! It will be perfect for spring and summer or even when you just want that bright pop of color. The more I look at it, the more I can’t take my eyes away because of it’s different tone, I have tons of purples and blues, but none like this one.

Image

Through the Grapevine is another favorite from this bunch, it’s the perfect berry color to me. It’s like raspberries and and grapes had a baby to make this shade, it’s gorgeous! I can’t find any other words to describe this.

Image

Heatwave is an orange based coral shade that is different from the other corals I usually reach for. I apologize for the smudge on my pointer finger (didn’t notice until now) but I really do love this shade, and the name “heatwave” is the best way to describe it!

Image

I Need a Refresh-Mint is a gorgeous aqua mint shade, it reminds me a lot of China Glaze’s For Audrey, which was the first comparison to pop in my mind. This is definitely one of those “must grab” colors mostly because a girl cannot have enough mint colored polishes, am I right?

Overall, these polishes have really impressed me. The color opacity of each one was perfect, with a thin first coat the color applied beautifully, and the second coat just made it perfect. The formulation of these are great–the dry time was fairly quick, given about a couple minutes each when I took the photos. I am very pleased with the colors I chose, and I know I will be going back for more, especially soon because I’m not sure when the buy 2, get 1 free will end!

My absolute favorites are Through the Grapevine, Wet Cement, and I Need a Refresh-Mint (because again, I cannot have enough mint shades!).

Please do yourselves a favor and at least check these babies out, because for 1.99 these are well worth it–maybe even worth more than that! Let me know what you guys think if you do happen to check this line out. As far as I know, they are available at most drugstores, don’t forget to check Walgreens first for the deal!

Image

XO Alyssa

13 thoughts on “Drugstore Discovery: New Wet N Wild Megalast Nailpolishes

  1. They are so CHEAP! The colours are so gorgeous too! If these were in Australia, they’d mark ’em up to at least $10 (each!). Major American-envy right now! Really good review, too!

    • Oh my goodness, $10!? That’s insane!! I don’t think I’ve ever paid more than $10 for a nail polish here in the states. That’s so mind boggling! I really hope you try these polishes if you get the chance though, they truly are hidden gems! Thank you so much for your feedback as well, I appreciate it 🙂

  2. I’m having all sorts of issues with my internet today, ignore the previous comment. sorry lol.

    Anyways, I love those colors though, especially Grapevine, I may have to stop at Walgreens this weekend and pick them up.

  3. Pingback: Drugstore Discovery: [More] Wet N Wild Megalast Nailpolishes! | Le Chic Indulgence

  4. Pingback: Current Indulgence: Wet N Wild Cosmetics! | Le Chic Indulgence

    • I agree! I just need two more to complete the whole collection 😉 Funny thing, I bought them all at sale prices, but I’m so impressed with the finish and formula that I’d pay more than the retail price because they are amaaaazing! 😀

      • I know! I would happy pay more them. My favorite is what I call “Sea Foam Green” but it’s actually “Refresh Mint”. It looks so pretty on. Specially with a tan.

        How do you like the flat brush?

  5. Pingback: Wet n’ Wild For Nail Polish! « Dee Shore

Leave a Reply

